Samosas

I was having a busy day at work and had to stop by our on-campus deli for a quick lunch. It was just taken over by the local popular Indian restaurant, 8Elements. As I browsed the menu, my eyes immediately lit up at the word — samosas! These samosas were so good, I was inspired to make my own! I found an easy recipe on RasaMalaysia.com that featured a guest post from Prerna of IndianSimmer.com. Since I made these on the spur of the moment, I was missing a few ingredients and made some substitutions but they still turned out tasty!

samosas

Try these substitutions if you don’t have the ingredients handy…

For the pastry:

  • 1 ½ cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp semolina
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ ajwain seeds (optional) <-omitted
  • A little over 2/3 cups of water

For the filling:

  • 2 medium sized potatoes (I use Yukon gold) I used 3 1/2 Russett potatoes
  • ½ cup sweet green peas
  • 1 cup thinly sliced onions
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds <- 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp minced green chili <-I used 4 minced green chili peppers
  • 1 tsp turmeric <-I used about 2 tsp curry powder (which included salt, turmeric, coriander, cumin, red pepper)
  • 1 ½ tsp coriander powder (optional) <-omitted

For recipe, photos, and instructions, visit RasaMalaysia.com.

Leave a Reply

