Repurposed Pin Cushion Mason Jar

I was walking around Joann’s and found this DIY takeaway on how to make pin cushions using jars. IMG_1780But I was a little disappointed because it didn’t explain how to make the actual pin cushion—it just asked for a premade store-bought one. So I decided to try to make my own. One of my colleagues gave me a mason jar with granola in it for Christmas so I repurposed the jar for this craft. I also remembered that I had a little jam jar that I saved when my friend, Windi, made me some yummy homemade jam. I really like this project because the pin cushion jar serves 2 purposes. I can store my sewing supplies like thread and buttons inside the jar AND I can stick my pins in the cushion. I think these jars would make great little valentine gifts for someone who likes to sew.

Here’s how to make them:

mason_jar_pincushion_steps

Here's my finished creation!

Here’s my finished creation! The mason jar turned out so cute, I went on to make a mini version with the jam jar.

If you’re wondering where I got the cute heart pins, you can find them at Typo for a couple dollars:
heartpins
And I found the measuring tape ribbon for only 99 cents at Michael’s in the scrapbooking section:
ribbon

One thought on “Repurposed Pin Cushion Mason Jar

  1. Pingback: Cupcake Fleece Pin Cushions | Creative Living Blog

Leave a Reply

