Repurposed Placemat Throw Pillow

What’s a placemat pillow you ask? It’s a quick and easy way to make a throw pillow for your chair, bed, or couch using a placemat! I learned this technique from my sister and I’m excited to share with you today.

I got my LOVE placemat after Valentine’s Day one year and decided to repurposed it into a pillow. This project is great if you have or find a placemat you can’t use for the dining table because you don’t have enough for the table. Browse the store after a holiday or stop by a thrift shop and look for a vintage design.

First off, make sure the placemat you want to use has two pieces of fabric sewn together. Using a seam ripper, cut the thread along one side to create a small opening. Stuff the placemat with polyfill and seal the opening by doing a blind stitch by hand.

Here's my pillow before I blind-stitched the opening.

Here’s my pillow before I blind-stitched the opening.

If you haven’t done this before, check out this easy-to-follow tutorial by Amy at Positively Splendid. That’s it! Quick and simple and you’ll be done in about 15 minutes!

XOXO,
Dawn

 

Leave a Reply

